top of page

My Engagement Story


Today, I share a little bit of my life with you and the important people in it. My story is not fully written without them. One of those people is my fiancee, who I will lovingly call Mr. Right (or, 8-Bit, on occassion).* Our story together began in 2012 when we met through a mutual friend. There was something about him that kept me drawn in and enjoying his company. Fast forward to July 26, 2016 and he asked me to marry him! Cleary, I said yes..because here we are!

That Summer, we were gearing up for what we decided would be our traditional vacation trip to Mechacon, an anime and Japanese entertainment/culture convention. This would be my second time going and I was happy to return. It was the one part of the year I most looked forward to; three whole days of fun and quality time with my love. The trip was much needed, as I had just been laid off from work and could use the pick-me-up before starting the grueling job hunt again. I suppose my (then) boyfriend wanted to change my perspective and see this as a new chapter to my life; our lives- together! We checked into our hotel room early. As I put away the luggage I turn to see him down on bended knee; asking for me to marry him! He had the sweetest little puppy dog look in his eyes. I didn’t cry right away; but once the hugging and kissing commenced, so did the water works.

So, what about the ring?!

Photo Credits: Zales.com

Mr. Right and I are practical people. Over the course of our seven years together, he has taught me a lot and one of those things is how to better manage my money. I knew building a life together meant that it wasn’t just about what I wanted (materialistically) and if I made smart money decisions now, it would allow for fun splurges later. With that being said, I wanted to be realistic about the engagement ring to invest in. I didn’t want him to spend alot (especially that age-old tale of spending THREE months worth of paychecks on a ring….ludacris!) We had talked extensively about it, prior to us taking the next step in our relationship. I knew I wanted something simple and elegant, that wasn’t too gaudy (even though, I love big, sparkly, glam things). I didn’t want it to turn my finger green and I needed something that would stand up to everyday wear. In the case of a fatal event of loss or theft, I wanted this ring to not be too much of a financial blow, either. I actually chose my ring myself, and when the time was right for him, he presented it to me. Behold, my gorgeous 6.0mm Cushion-Cut Pink Morganite and Diamond Accent ring in 10k Rose Gold. It was everything I wanted! As much as I love jewelry, I am not a big ring wearer, but this one I never wanted to take off!

Our engagement will be marked at three years, this coming summer. I am so blessed to have Mr. Right in my life and I’m happy to have this symbol of love on my finger; forever.

*= Denotes name change. For the respect and privacy of friends and family, names have been changed and cool nicknames given. 🙂

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4 Things That Changed After I Got Married

Mr. Right and I recently reached our one month mark for marriage. The time passed so quickly! Since then, I’ve had girl friends ask me different variations of the question “Does your relationship feel

My New Wedding Rings by Modern Gents Trading Co

Hello beauties 🙂 April 2, 2019 was my first post and introduction to the company Modern Gents Trading Co and the conflict-free jewelry they offer. Since then, I have purchased a total of five additio

Just Married!

I’ve waited and prayed for this day to come to pass for so long…and by the grace of God it has! Mr. Right and have went through so many of life’s trials and tribulations and we are so deserving of joy

bottom of page