top of page

Wichita, KS Vacation Recap 2024

This past week has been magical. A much needed break from the grind to enjoy a trip! I finally attended my first reborn doll show. There are several shows through out the summer months but I decided to save up to attend the Kansas Doll Show in Wichita, KS. I even got myself a permanant Kansas souvenir...a new tattoo!


Impromptu Tattoo Day: Cover-up No. 2



When I visit a new place I always search for surrounding places that I can go explore. Some of them may be tourist attractions and most of them not. I'm a pretty eclectic person and like discovering cool shops and stops that most people wouldn't bother visiting on vacation. This time around, I landed myself at Tenfold Tattoo studio with artist Tyler Warren. After learning they were the only tattoo shop accepting walk-ins in the area, and a resounding YES to my cover-up request, it took me no time to land a spot in the tattoo chair. Goodbye to my 16 year old nautical star tattoo that should have never been.


Tyler convinced me that a snake added to my request of florals was a good option for a coverup. I wasn't too into it at first until I saw the custom art piece he created for me. I was sold! The tattoo session only took about two hours and thirty minutes.


Right now, its in that weird scaly shedding phase that tattoos go through. I can already tell it will look great once it's sall healed up. I will say though, that I much prefer the healing process with Saniderm wraps as apposed to saran wrap. Lots of protection from dirt, random bumps/scratches and I deal with that awful peeling phase a lot less.




Kansas Doll Show 2024

I didn't quite know what to expect here but I knew itd be a good time. I have been watching YouTube videos of other collector's videos about the doll show for years but nothing compared to being there in person and experiencing it first hand! At first, I felt out of place as I encountered an older crowd. However as the convention got underway, I met my tribe of people and fit right in! I made an effort to get out of my comfort zone, abandon shyness and go up to people and start talking. The bunch at this show were all so friendly.


I had a wonderful time meeting reborn doll sculptors, artists and show moderators. Being amongst other first-timers and sharing the excitement was a blast. I came back home fully inspired to start my own journey in learning to paint reborn dolls and a renewed love for creating more social media content again, in the doll hobby. For more details on what I did each day (and pictures of the two new dolls I adopted), check out my blog post on my reborn doll blog, DollieLovex3.


10 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page